Can I Buy You a Sweater?

It is socially acceptable to offer to buy a woman that you do not know a drink at a bar.  But what about buying something of equal value for this same woman elsewhere?  Say you could be in line at a Redbox rental kiosk and decide to approach this woman and say, “Excuse me, but could I buy you a Redbox rental?  I’ll even splurge and get you that Blu-ray.  Just promise to return it within a day please.”  That’s weird right?  Here’s another weird scenario.

Can I Buy You a Sweater?

A young woman is looking at the accessories section in J. Crew.  A young man catches eye of her and walks over toward the accessories section.

“You look cold.”

“Excuse me?”

“I said you look cold.”

The man winks his right eye.

“Oh.”

“Can I buy you a sweater?”

“I don’t know.”

“Come on.  What’s your favorite color?”

“Blue.”

“I think I saw a nice one over on the clearance rack.”

The woman walks away immediately.

Leave a Reply

