A New Haircut Day Scenario

Do you ever get really excited after a haircut?  I don’t mean because you are trying out a new style.  I mean that you’re hoping someone notices, especially someone that you like.  If a person is able to detect and verbally acknowledge your haircut, that person has to be paying attention.  I know I shouldn’t expect too much because it’s not like I radically alter my hair from dread locks to buzz cut each time.  At the same time, it doesn’t keep me from wishing for the best.

A New Haircut Day Scenario

“There’s something different about you today.”

The man strokes his right hand through his hair.

“I just can’t put my finger on it, but you look…”

The man grins shyly waiting for her to finish her thought.

“…did you lose an arm recently?”

The man is caught off guard.  He turns and we see that he only has one arm.

“Well actually, I lost my left arm three months ago.”

“I’m so sorry!”

“You’re seriously just noticing now?”

“Yes, of course.”

“You mean you didn’t hear about it at all?  Not a thing?”

“You know I’m really not much for office gossip.”

“Well, do remember that mandatory corporate training we had on how dangerous paper shredders can be?”

“Oh sure.”

“The only reason we had that was because of what happened to me.”

“I had no idea that actually happens to people.”

“It does.  It did.  And it probably won’t happen again because of the public awareness I have been raising about paper shredder safety.”

“I didn’t know you were such an activist.”

“I’m not surprised.”

3 thoughts on “A New Haircut Day Scenario

  1. I’m in a similar boat. When I do get a proper haircut (as opposed to nail scissors DIY trims) I tend to prance out and pause to admire my reflection in as many store windows as I feel like. And yet people around you just don’t seem to notice. Sadly I’ve not had the money or time for months… Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

